10/03/2013 04:00

It was a near perfect day to race in BOLD. It was looking like it would be a cold and wet meet, but we were able to miss the rain and have outstanding performances on a great course to run fast. We had 26 total season bests or all-time bests as we were able to finish the meet with four 1st place and one 2nd place performances in the five race we had athletes competing in.

Our Junior Boys raced really well and won the meet despite three of the JH boys racing in the Junior Varsity race. Grant Liebl improved his season best time by three seconds, as he led the boys with his 10th place finish. Sam Fox, Holden Kipfer (13 second PR), Sam Kahnke (27 second SB), and Austin Vogland were the scorers for Redwood.

The Girls Varsity finished second out of the eight teams at the meet. Kayla kept her undefeated streak alive as she won her 6th meet of the year with a time of 14:56 in the 4000 meter race. Nicole Bunting (4th) tied her lifetime record as she a season best by 22 seconds with a time of 15:47. Mary Fixsen (5th) was right on Nicole's heals as well with a time of 16:16. Lauren Karnitz (22nd) and Haylee Sovell (23rd) were the other Redwood scorers as they ran in a pack together with Clair Hammerschmidt (24th) basically the entire race.

The Boys Varsity finished first as they also placed 3 guys in the top 5. Ryan Phillips (2nd) led the boys with a time of 16:43. The other six Varsity runners all ran season best times and five of them were all-time bests. Wes Peyerl (3rd) cut 18 seconds off of his time with a finish of 17:20. Alex Angermeyr (4th), Marshal Quast (10th, breaking 18 minutes for the first time), and Josiah Passe (13th) were the other scorers for Redwood.

The JV races were run together because they were each running 4000 meters. Both teams pulled through and won the meet. Charli Miller (5th), Mina Wold (6th), Julia Prouty (7th), Taylor Haase (12th), and Jasmin Ovre (13th) were the scorers for Redwood. Julia, Jasmin, and Kenzie Weelborg all had their best times of the year in the race. The guys team had 8 runners receive a medal as they placed in the top 10: Boe Bidinger (1st), Simon Grundemann (2nd), Cole Gewerth (4th), Nate Benson (5th), Aaron Boyle (6th), Carter Menz (7th), Macius Schroeder (9th) and Thomas Benson (10th). Boe, Simon, Nate, Aaron, Thomas, Nathaniel Passe, Armando Davila, Bruce Helsper (PR), David Helsper, Vaughan Johnson (PR), and Cameron Liebl all had their best times of the year.

The next meet will be Tuesday, October 8th, in Mankato!